Wednesday, 6 April 2022

A Plot Most Perilous (A Cassie Gwynne Mystery Book 2) by Genevieve Essig (2022)


 

Join Cassie Gwynne—bookworm, cat lover and super sleuth—as she gets herself entangled in a brand-new murder mystery!

America 1883: Cassie Gwynne feels like she’s finally found where she belongs, settling into her new life in Florida with her aunt and her mischievous kitten Esy. When a traveling theater group arrives in town Cassie can’t resist signing up for the chorus. But the production goes awry from the start and soon death takes center stage...

With costumes going missing and strange voices heard coming from the dressing room, the cast are convinced they are cursed. And when the lead actor, 
William Gage, has a fatal accident, Cassie is certain someone is deliberately targeting the play. Off-stage Mr. Gage was known as a notorious flirt, so could a jilted lover be out for revenge?

Determined that the show must go on, Cassie launches her own investigation into the peculiar events. She quickly discovers an expensive, embroidered handkerchief stashed away on the lighting platform. This part of the theater is supposed to be out of bounds, so could the cagey chorus girl or the uppity understudy have something to hide?


When she returns at night to look around, Cassie is almost flattened as the wooden scenery crashes to the stage. Is this just the latest in a long line of catastrophes or is somebody out to stop Cassie learning the truth?

Can Cassie solve the mystery and make it to opening night or will it be curtains for her too?

Perfect for fans of Deanna Raybourn, C.J. Archer and Verity Bright! This is a totally charming cozy mystery full of murder, intrigue, and a cast of characters you’ll adore.

                                             🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

I loved this. The characters are well established having been introduced to them in book 1. The plot is very quick-paced. I loved the comedy that actors in the travelling troupe provided. They were an eccentric, flamboyant and superstitious lot, just what you would imagine a group of actors to be.
The mystery had me stumped and guessing right up to the last moment. There is an unexpected twist at the end and I'm looking forward to reading more in relation to it in the next book.
Cassie has yet to delve into the puzzle surrounding her father's death. It is all very mysterious and it has really piqued my interest. I want to find out what happened but at the same time I don't want the author to reveal too much too soon as I want the series to continue for a lot more books.

#APlotMostPerilous is out now Amazon



No comments:

Post a Comment