Monday, 5 December 2022

Murder at the Tea Rooms: A 1920s Cozy Mystery (Lady Felicity Quick Mystery Book 3) by Rosie Hunt (2022)

 


The Green Ginger Tea Rooms have a neatly thatched roof, scones baked to perfection, and under a lace-edged tablecloth … a corpse!

England, 1921. On the eve of her first official assignment working with the reporter she admires most, journalist Lady Felicity Quick is more than slightly vexed when her grandmother requests a favour she cannot refuse.

Acts of petty sabotage are undermining the success of tea rooms run by a cherished friend of Felicity’s grandmother. But on arriving in the village to play the detective, Felicity finds more than spilt food dye and collapsed sponges.

Murder has occurred, and her grandmother’s friend is the prime suspect.

Can Felicity use her sleuthing skills to unmask the real killer and still make it in time for her special assignment? Or will Felicity’s battle to outwit a deadly foe destroy not only the tea rooms’ future — but also her own?

If you love puzzling period mysteries sprinkled with humour and set in the charming English countryside, then you will love this cozy series! For fans of Agatha Christie, Ann Sutton, and Helena Dixon. Get your copy today!





                                               ✴✴✴✴✴


I've enjoyed the previous books in the Lady Felicity Quick historical mystery series and I am still a fan. Murder at the Tea Rooms is the third book in the series. The 1920s is one of my favourite time periods and this series sends you on a lovely short trip back in time with an intriguing mystery to solve. The author's sense of humour shines through in this book. I loved the fact that the murder weapon was, of all things, a teapot. 

 

Murder at the Tea Rooms is a light, pleasant read and an excellent whodunnit with a host of credible suspects. Most of the employees of the tearoom had previous trouble with the law so it wasn't a wild stretch that the murderer could be one of them. 


The story had loads of twists and turns and the mystery was complicated enough to keep me guessing until the end. To confuse matters further, Felicity's investigation was misled by the assumption that all the crimes committed were connected. So, Felicity and Alex had more than one case to solve while they were there.

I enjoyed their teamwork and the friendship developing between them. 


The humour at the end had me smiling as I closed the book. I'm looking forward to reading the next case for this investigative duo.



Murder at the Tea Rooms is out now! Amazon