Thursday 21 March 2024

Betrayal at Ravenswick Fiona Figg Mystery #1) by Kelly Oliver


Downton Abbey meets Agatha Christie in this charming series opener. 

What's the best way to purge an unfaithful husband? Become a spy for British Intelligence, of course. Desperate to get out of London, and determined to help the war effort and stop thinking about her philandering husband, Fiona Figg volunteers to go undercover. At Ravenswick Abbey a charming South African war correspondent has tongues wagging. His friends say he's a crack huntsman. The War Office is convinced he's a traitor. Fiona thinks he's a pompous prig. What sort of name is Fredrick Fredricks anyway? Too bad Fiona doesn't own a Wolseley pith helmet. At Ravenswick a murderer is on the prowl, and it's not just the big-game hunter who's ready to pounce. 

Looking for your next binge-worthy series? Grab it today and start the fun."

A madcap caper with a surprise at every turn... thoroughly delightful." —Novels Alive 

Other Books in the series

High Treason at the Grand Hotel

Villainy in Vienna 

Chaos at Carnegie Hall

Covert in Cairo

Mayhem in the Mountains

Having read some of this series out of sequence I felt compelled to start from the beginning and see how Fiona got into the spying business and how she managed to get tangled up with Fredrick Fredricks.
In 'Betrayal at Ravenswick' we learn about Fiona's marital strife, divorce and her work with the War Office. We also see Fiona don a disguise for the first time to pass herself off as male and a famous doctor with a speciality in poisons. This speciality is soon to prove invaluable when a murder occurs at Ravenswick and Fiona suspects poisoning.
Fredrick Fredricks is also a master of disguise, clever and charming. There is a great air of mystery surrounding him as he seems to blend into all kinds of social situations but no one knows his background intimately beyond his reputation as a huntsman and a journalist.
Archie, Fiona's love interest in the series is introduced in this book and it was interesting to experience their first meeting and the beginning of their friendship.
The murder mystery here is complex as there are so many possible suspects with motive and opportunity. The author does a great job of tying all the threads together whilst keeping the reader in suspense. 
This was a great start to the series and I will be sure to dive into the next book very soon.

Betrayal at Ravenswick is available in paperback, ebook and audiobook Amazon

No comments:

Post a Comment