Saturday, 27 May 2023

Mystery at Farfield Castle (An Eve Mallow Mystery Book 10) by Clare Chase (2023)




 




Beautiful Farfield Castle is opening its grounds for a party, and everyone in Saxford’s invited. But as the champagne flows, the owner takes a fatal fall. Fortunately, amateur sleuth Eve Mallow is on the case!

When novelist 
Julian Fisher buys Farfield Castle to turn the charming old building into a writers’ retreat, he wants the neighbours onside. But he has his work cut out: Saxford St Peter locals tried to buy the castle for the village, and are furious that only the very rich will be able to enjoy it.

At the lavish launch party, Fisher treats the villagers like royalty, but 
Eve Mallow is distracted by the tension in the air. She watches as Fisher’s wife Kitty argues with several guests, almost in tears, before she disappears altogether…

Later that evening, when Kitty is found dead in the castle’s icehouse, it’s quickly proved to be no accident. With dozy Detective Palmer on the wrong track, Eve can’t resist getting involved. Convinced the answers lie inside Farfield Castle, Eve questions an overly inquisitive journalist, Kitty’s less-than-loyal husband, and his prickly PA.

But when it emerges that a family heirloom and Julian’s computer both went missing on the night of the party, Eve is sure that solving the theft will solve the murder. Who is behind this deadly tale… and can Eve find the killer before she gets written off?

A completely charming English cozy mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Faith Martin and J.R. Ellis.

                                                                        🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 

The tenth book in the series and Eve has another mystery to solve. The story is character driven and the complex mystery kept me completely stumped the whole way through. Eve is a nice character with the ability to mingle in any setting with ease and has a way of ferreting out the truth when something doesn't seem right. She spends a lot of time talking and asking questions and that got a little bit monotonous for me at one stage but the drama and suspense towards the end was exciting.

Her dog, Gus, is adorable and I enjoy it when he's involved. Robin didn't feature much in this instalment but he is also a firm favourite character.
This was a clever mystery and I'm glad to see that book 11 will be out in November.

No comments:

Post a Comment