Monday 22 August 2016

Giving In To You: The Giving Trilogy: Book 1 by L.M. Carr (2015) Narrated by Tracy Marks (2016)

Publisher's Summary

Second grade teacher Mia Delaney isn't looking for love. In fact, she isn't looking for anything at all because life hasn't been fair. Everything - the idea of love, her hopes and dreams - was ripped away in a single night.
Arrogant yet sexy Adam Lawson makes the move to a small town in an attempt to escape life in the city. Here he hopes to provide a fresh start for those he loves and protects with a vow to never let anyone get close enough to hurt them again.
A chance encounter with Miss Delaney begins a relentless pursuit that has Adam breaking his own rules when he makes an offer she simply can't refuse. Despite her internal struggles, Mia knows there's no denying the attraction between them.
But when acquaintances become friends and friends become enemies, Adam's need to protect those around him becomes even more crucial. Will the tangled web of lies and betrayal combined with past insecurities become too much for them to handle?


This story had me completely glued and I can't wait to listen to the rest of the series.
I loved the narrative voice in this book; laced with humour, Mia's inner monologues, observations and sharp retorts are funny and relevant.
Adam was a little bit more mysterious as we are not privy to his back story until later in the book. He has a dark air of mystery around him which I quite like and he is also fiercely protective of Mia. I liked that Mia challenges him on his cave-man actions and is able to stand up for herself.
I've listened to Tracy Marks narrations before and I am always impressed by her ability to perform all the characters with such believable expression. Her voice and narration style is very easy to listen to and I find myself being truly immersed in the story.

Giving In To You is the first in a trilogy and is not a stand alone book. 

I received a copy in exchange for my honest review.

No comments:

Post a Comment