Sunday, 12 December 2021

Lost Souls (Detective Gaby Darin #4) by Jenny O'Brien (2021)



A MISSING GIRL. A RACE AGAINST TIME.
Ten-year-old Elodie Fry vanishes overnight, along with a rucksack filled with her meagre belongings. Acting DI Gaby Darin and her team are fighting the clock to reunite Elodie with her distraught mother – but was Elodie kidnapped or did she run?

Later that day, a local undertaker uncovers a nasty surprise: the remains of an unidentified second adult among a late pensioner’s ashes. Torn between the two investigations, Gaby decides the gruesome discovery at the crematorium must wait – the team are desperate to find Elodie before they lose her trail.

But as she follows the evidence, Gaby realises the two cases have a sinister connection… and there’s a killer on the loose.

Can Gaby find the missing girl alive… or is she already too late?

Full of twists and turns, this gripping thriller will keep you hooked to the end. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, LJ Ross and D.S. Butler.
 
 


A fast-paced and clever whodunnit. There is more than one mystery for DC Gaby Darin to puzzle over but they very cleverly turn out to be connected. I was completely stumped as to how it would all unravel and I enjoyed the process of finding out.  I was intrigued as to how it would all turn out for the two youngsters but I was glad that someone was looking out for Elodie. 
The crematorium murder mystery really got my interest as it was such an unusual crime scene. 
I like the group of side characters in the series and I feel like I get to know them all a bit better with each book. There is a little bit of romance in Gaby's life but it's a nice slow burn romance that doesn't overshadow the mystery and suspense of the novel.

If you like a good mystery without gore and with a strong female protagonist then this is the series for you.


2 comments:

  1. I do like mysteries with no gore. (I have a weak stomach for that sort of thing.) This sounds like something I would like!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you like it! All of the books in the series are good so you should start with book 1 if you can.

      Delete