Sunday, 20 September 2020

The Smuggler's Daughter by Kerry Barrett BLOG TOUR

 



The Smuggler’s Daughter: Heartwrenching and gripping historical fiction with a mystery to uncover.

Only she knows the truth. Only she can save them.

1799
Emily Moon lives with her mother in an inn on a clifftop in the darkest reaches of Cornwall. After her father mysteriously disappears, her mother finds solace at the bottom of a bottle, and the only way to keep afloat is to turn a blind eye to the smugglers who send signals from the clifftops. But Emily knows that the smugglers killed her father to ensure his silence, and she will not let his murder go unpunished…

Present day
After a case ends in tragedy, police officer Phoebe Bellingham flees to Cornwall for a summer of respite. But rather than the sunny Cornwall of her dreams, she finds herself on storm-beaten cliffs, surrounded by stories of ghosts and smugglers – and the mysterious Emily Moon, who vanished without a trace over two centuries ago. As rain lashes down around her, Phoebe determines to find the truth behind the rumours – but what she uncovers will put herself in danger too…

A haunting and moving timeslip novel perfect for fans of The Girl in the Letter, The Forgotten Village and The Witchfinder’s Sister.


Gripping and unputdownable.

I love dual timeline stories especially when there is a mystery or two to solve.
I liked both timelines equally as their respective stories were so well written.
The character, Emily Moon, is a unique and courageous girl. She is on the spectrum which makes her a pitiable oddity in her day but she has a quiet inner strength that shines through.

In the present day, Pheobe has had a difficult case and needs to get away and recharge her batteries. However, she gets embroiled in uncovering an old mystery, and adventure and intrigue ensue.
The history and beauty of Cornwall are evident in the author's descriptions and I couldn't help but add it to my places to visit post Covid!

A brilliantly told story and one I keep thinking about since I finished reading it.









No comments:

Post a comment