Thursday, 23 January 2020

Perfect Remains (A DI Callanach Thriller Book 1) by Helen Fields, Narrated by Robin Laing (2019)



On a remote Highland mountain, the body of Elaine Buxton is burning. All that will be left to identify the respected lawyer are her teeth and a fragment of clothing.

In the concealed back room of a house in Edinburgh, the real Elaine Buxton screams into the darkness…


Detective Inspector Luc Callanach has barely set foot in his new office when Elaine’s missing persons case is escalated to a murder investigation. Having left behind a promising career at Interpol, he’s eager to prove himself to his new team. But Edinburgh, he discovers, is a long way from Lyon, and Elaine’s killer has covered his tracks with meticulous care.

It’s not long before another successful woman is abducted from her doorstep, and Callanach finds himself in a race against the clock. Or so he believes … The real fate of the women will prove more twisted than he could have ever imagined.

Fans of Angela Marson, Mark Billingham and M. J. Aldridge will be gripped by this chilling journey into the mind of a troubled killer.




I really loved this book and if I could have listened to this book in one go without a heap of interruptions I would have. It's an addictive read. It's dark, twisty, suspenseful and it's set in Scotland. I loved listening to the authentic Scottish accents performed in the narration a listened to the story unfold.
DI Callanach is an interesting character as are the people he works with. there is the hint at a possible romance so it will be very interesting to read the next book and see how things develop.
The mystery itself was riveting. The reader is privy to who the killer is and we get glimpses of the world through his eyes. It was creepy and disturbing but such good reading! impossible to put down.
I am really looking forward to continuing this series in audio format.

audiobooks.com         Audible         Amazon