Tuesday, 15 January 2019

The Chestnut Man by Søren Sveistrup (2019)



Product description


*THE GRIPPING DEBUT NOVEL FROM THE CREATOR AND WRITER OF HIT TV SHOW THE KILLING*

'Brilliant. Scandi noir is back with a bang with this sensational debut novel. The Stieg Larsson comparisons seem unfair - on Sveistrup. He's quite simply in another league. *****' Metro
_____________

One blustery October morning in a quiet Copenhagen suburb, the police make a terrible discovery. A young woman is found brutally murdered with one of her hands missing. Above her hangs a small doll made of chestnuts.

Ambitious young detective Naia Thulin is assigned the case. Her partner, Mark Hess, is a burned-out investigator who's just been kicked out of Europol. They soon discover a mysterious piece of evidence on the chestnut man - evidence connecting it to a girl who went missing a year earlier and is presumed dead; the daughter of politician Rosa Hartung. But the man who confessed to her murder is already behind bars and the case long since closed.

Soon afterwards, a second woman is found murdered, along with another chestnut man. Thulin and Hess suspect that there's a connection between the Hartung case and the murdered women. But what is it?

Thulin and Hess are racing against the clock, because it's clear that the killer is on a mission that is far from over . . .

Fans of The Killing, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and Jo Nesbø will love this debut thriller.


Review 

A thrilling read from start to finish. Be warned, you will need to set aside some 'me time' because once you start this book you won't want to stop until you've finished. 

A brilliant read.

Buy Links Amazon
BookDepository  (Free Intl Delivery)
Kennys  (Indie Bookstore- Free Intl Delivery)